[Film Review] Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (No Spoilers)

There are no spoilers in this review. Mainly because I’m writing a second part to this review where I will literally regurgitate every favourite part of this movie. But considering that parts of the world will now get this movie until next week, I thought I should split my usual review into two parts. So there is no fear of spoilers here.

tumblr_om4zbqjJbi1sc0ffqo1_r1_540
Source: marvelgifs

This movie blew my mind. I thought it couldn’t get better than the first one, and then it did. This film does not bother with any introductions. We are plunged straight into the heart of the action and the pace stays quick from there. What I can say though, is that much of what we are shown from the trailers have formed in our minds a possible narrative for this film, and what we are shown, is completely different. I’m not sure about other people, but it was for me.

There were also many throwbacks to the first movie. Yondu’s little toys make an appearance again and so do the many references to Gamora’s dancing, which she actually does do with Peter. For a little while anyway. Groot fans would love the many scenes the tiny little tree gets (that’s me), trust me, they are all cute. Old relationships surface again and we get to explore the Gamora-Nebula and Yondu-Peter dynamic further, and the revelations might surprise you. Aside from relationships, we also get a more in-depth look at our beloved characters and understand a bit more backstory. While the first movie made us fall in love with the characters, the second made us love them that much more.

Humour was done well throughout and the theatre I was in laughed uproariously almost constantly. Some were jokes that only fans got but most were scripted well enough for the mass audience to understand. James Gunn made a good film in which there were both treats for fans and masses alike.

tumblr_ol0w2iAkbf1u58bayo3_540
Source: dailygiffing

I highly recommend this movie. While I love the Marvel Cinematic Universe, I do not confess to be an avid reader of the comics themselves. However, at no point during this movie did I feel that I was lacking knowledge to understand it.

I must confess, I shake my head derisively at anybody who walks out of the Marvel credits at any point in time. There are five post-credit scenes for GotG Vol. 2. These 5 scenes all focused on different characters and were highly entertaining. They not only gave us a snapshot into the lives of the Guardians post movie, but a particularly well executed one might have even given us a hint into what the future Guardians movies could centre on.

As many might not have watched this film yet, I will refrain from giving too much away. But please, do go watch it. You will not regret it.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

There will be a part 2 of this review, which will contain spoilers. You can find it here. Comments and discussion are welcome.

For updates, follow on: Facebook | Twitter

One thought on “[Film Review] Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (No Spoilers)

Leave a Reply

